Magick is complete!

Back in 2009, I published my first novel, Eternity. It wasn’t the first one I ever wrote, but it was the first one I had the guts to submit to publishers. A small vanity press picked it up. I was so excited! I had the start of a trilogy and couldn’t wait to get to work on the second and third books. Magick, the second book, was started in late 2009, but life intervened. I had a few very tumultuous years, including a huge issue with my publishing house, and although I visited Magick often, and even wrote the prologue for Solstice, which is book three in the trilogy, I couldn’t devote time to my writing like I wanted to. I finished Magick in 2013 ¬†originally, but I rushed it and it was not good. I had two editors and a friend tell me to start over from the mid-point, where my writing obviously had suffered. Lots has happened since then, including me having a crushing case of writers block where I couldn’t write ANYTHING, but with a renewed resolve, I started working on Magick in earnest about two months ago.

large_writer_s_block_meme

Now, tonight, it’s done. It was a hard birth, painful where Eternity was painless, but well worth it, I think. I have sent it off to my editor, and I think she’ll be pleased. I knew I was back in the groove when the book took me to places all on it’s own, like an old friend guiding me gently by the hand. I had an outline but the book and it’s characters said, “Screw that outline, we’re taking you on a ride” and they did. That’s such a satisfying feeling after being without it for so long. Next step, editing. Then I’m entering Magick into the Amazon Kindle Scout contest to see if I can get a contract with Amazon. It’s not much different than self-publishing through them, except I get an advance and better promotion! Wish me luck, and I’ll keep you posted!

kinopoisk.ru

This is so true…

Leave a Reply

