Lovely words

I admit, I am not a big poetry person. I could barely form a haiku in 6th grade English, let alone figure out stanzas and iambic pentameter. I need full-on paragraphs to get my point across! SO…I decided to actively hate poetry. Now, before you get all up in arms, please remember that I was 12. It lasted about a year. Until I saw the movie “The Outsiders”.

Anyone close to my age remembers the excellent novel by S.E. Hinton and the movie that put some of our most famous A-list actors on the map (and some brat-packers too). It was a movie that kids in my generation could relate to, even if it was set a couple of decades before we were running the streets. It was released the year before the first big John Hughes movie came out (I know which one, but do you?), and it’s still an iconic movie of my generation.

ImageThat being said, it helped get me interested in poetry. When Ponyboy recites “Nothing Gold Can Stay” by Robert Frost one golden morning, I finally got the whole appeal of poetry. Maybe it was C. Thomas Howell’s acting that did it, but when I finally read the book, it made even more impact on me.

Thanks to a new friend on Twitter, @VikRubenfeld, I feel inspired to post a poem, the one that started it all for me. It’s short and sweet, and not even one of his best, but I love it all the same. Enjoy!

 

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf,
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day
Nothing gold can stay.

Robert Frost

4 thoughts on “Lovely words

Leave a Reply

