The heat is on!

“Teagan! Damn it, wake up!”

I was being shaken, hard, and my eyes snapped open to find Noah on top of me, straddling my waist. He was peering down at me, concern and consternation clouding his deep blue eyes.

My head was muddled, and I couldn’t seem to focus on anything in particular. My gaze traveled jerkily around the room, looking for Padraigan, although on some level I knew he wasn’t there.  The encompassing fear that had flooded through me was slowly draining away and I looked at Noah where he was perched on top of me.

“I saw him.” I whispered, my teeth chattering from a nasty case of the shakes.

His gaze sharpened and he brought his hands up to frame my face, his grasp gentle.

“Who did you see, Teagan?” His voice was a harsh whisper that was at complete odds with the tenderness of his hands.

“Padraigan. He was…was feeding.” I managed to gag out, and Noah reacted to the horror in my voice by pulling me up and wrapping his arms around me, pressing my head to his warm chest. I told myself that it was because I was cold and scared, not for any other reason did I burrow into him, my shaking arms circling his back and holding on tight.

“Were you dreaming or seeing?” His breath stirred the hair on top of my head, and it was blessedly warm, unlike Padraigan’s icy breath.

“I thought I was dreaming, but it was so real. I could see his wound from Damien closing itself up, as if the blood was making it heal faster than normal. I mean, a werewolf bite takes them forever to heal, even a shallow one, right?” I felt his nod his head as he rocked me slowly, trying to calm my nerves. It was so nice to have someone comfort me, even if it was Noah. I drew strength from him, from his warmth, and before I knew it, I was calm again. He kept holding me, but he had stopped rocking me.

“Um, Noah, I’m okay now. You can let go.” I pulled back, but he moved his hands back to frame my face, his eyes searching mine. If he kept staring at me like that, I would quickly put an end to this temporary truce. He had my heart racing with something other than the fear that had gripped me, and my blood was fast reaching boiling point.

“Teagan.” His voice was a whisper and I shook my head mutely, willing him to back away before he ruined everything. If he had just left it at calming me, I could have maybe revised my opinion of him.

“I’m sorry.” He whispered before his mouth came down on mine.

Leave a Reply

