Do you believe in Magick?

Here’s an excerpt from Magick! I hope you enjoy, and feedback is welcome!

 

“What are you doing?”

I heard Harley’s muffled laughter behind me, and I spun around, cooking fork in hand. She threw up her hands in mock surrender.

“Okay, I give up, sorry I was a bitch earlier. Seriously, what are you doing?” She came over to where I was staring vacantly at a pot roast sitting on the counter in its tidy plastic wrap, with no clue as to what to do with it. The counter was a mess, with chopped vegetables spread everywhere, cans of beef broth opened with gaping lids, and a wealth of flour dusting everything lightly, as if to mimic a winter wonderland.

“Noah is going to be staying the night indefinitely, until this whole Padraigan thing is done. I figured it would be nice if I cooked a nice meal to thank him.”

“I could think of something else you could do for him, and it doesn’t involve you trying to cook. I think he would appreciate that more.”

I brandished the fork at her menacingly, but she just laughed.

“I’ll do this. Step back, and watch the master work.”

Conceding defeat without even a whimper, I went to sit in the breakfast nook and watched her for a while, not even bothering to pay attention to what she was doing. I could make a dark day bright, but I could not cook worth a damn.

“I will say this, though. It’ll be a little weird seeing Noah in the house in the mornings, not that I’m not grateful that he’ll be here. Our spells are one thing, but it’s nice to have a sorcerer in the house.”

I looked at her, nonplussed. What did she just say?

“I know, I know, but Noah is different. He’s not like any other sorcerer that I know. He’s honorable, thoughtful, and not too cocky. A little bit of arrogance is attractive, I always say.”

I was struck speechless. My mouth opened and shut as my brain tried to process what she said. Granted, Harley had always been the more accepting of us, her mind more open to sorcery, but it was still a shock to hear her say something like that.

Noticing my lack of response, she turned toward me. “What? Did I actually shut you up for once?”

“I’m just not used to you saying something like that. What brought it on?” I finally found my voice, but was still just as puzzled as before.

She turned back to the counter and lifted the pot roast into the frying pan. I watched as she seared the meat, at least I thought that’s what she was doing, and waited for her to go on.

“Well, we’re all in this now, tied in somehow. Gareth and Anna because of the cure, Noah because of his loyalty to Gareth, although I think there’s something more there, and me because of you. I would love for us to get to the bottom of your night time trip to his house, and maybe having Noah here will give us the extra strategizing brain power needed to figure that out.”

It was glaringly conspicuous to me that she left Damien out of her little equation.

“What about Damien? I noticed you didn’t include him, although by my estimations, he’s part of this, too.”

She shrugged nonchalantly, but I could see that she wasn’t unaffected by my question. I didn’t have to be tuned into her feelings to know that.

“He has his own issues that have nothing to do with us.”

“Oh by the Goddess, Harley, quit it. Just stop. I don’t know what is going on with the two of you, because you won’t let me in on it, but he is as much a part of this as we are! He saved Anna’s life, and if Padraigan wasn’t already holding something over his head, that would have brought him into the mess just as much as we are. Give the poor man some credit. He can’t help who he is any more than we can.”

“You think I’m like this because he’s a werewolf? Teagan, you should know me better than that. If I were that type of person, I wouldn’t like Gareth, either.” She muttered, almost throwing the roast into the slow cooker. She started tossing vegetables in, almost making as much of a mess as I would have. Carrots and celery bounced out of the pot to land back on the counter.

“But you do like him, Damien, I mean. You can’t fool me, Harley.”

“OH! Just drop it, okay? We’re talking about you and Noah.”

“No, we were talking about how you thought it would be nice having a sorcerer in the house.” I let her change the subject, as she was obviously getting agitated over it.

“Well it will be nice. Ooh, maybe I can get him to fix the toilet on the ground floor.”

I snorted out a laugh.

“I get it now, you just want a handyman around. I can dig it.”

Leave a Reply

