What grabs you?

funny-cat-311.jpg 5

Good morning! Have you read Eternity? If you have, what did you like about it? What DIDN’T you like about it? If you haven’t read it, what grabs you when you’re reading a book? Dialogue? Action? Suspense? I’m curious to know what you all think! I’m working on Magick, and developing the story line for Blood Moon, the third book in the trilogy.

I know when I read a book, it’s not so much the hook that gets me- you can have a great hook but a not-so-great story- but how the characters interact and if I like them. I’ve read some mediocre books with fantastic characters, but if the characters aren’t to my liking, I usually put the book down.

I also don’t like a lot of descriptive passages. If an author writes “the tree, dressed in it’s fall glory…”, then I know that the tree is in color- red, yellow, orange- and I use my imagination. If an author writes “the deciduous tree, in a glorious shade of crimson streaked with burgundy…”, then I get a little bored with too much wording. Yes, the painted word-picture is pretty, but doesn’t make me think, and I guess that’s at the heart of it- I like to think. Now, we all know who my favorite authors are (if you’ve been reading my blog, that is), and they DO tend to get descriptive, but Stephen and Nora are EXCELLENT at it, and I don’t get bored. I love The Hobbit, and The Lord of the Rings, but I have a hard time getting through a Tolkein book because he is so descriptive. Please, don’t get me wrong: I have read, and I loved, the books, but they aren’t ones that I read over and over again, like I do other novels.

Anyway, now that I’ve droned on, tell me what YOU think!

Blue Signature

Leave a Reply

