Work, work, work

I am working! On lots of things, lol. Busy day for me, even though I thought it was going to be easy peasy. I’m starting work on Zane’s bedroom, cleaning our room, taking out the garbage, cooking dinner…oh, and writing more in Magick 🙂 On target for a December release!

It’s harder than I ever thought it would be to write. When I started writing when I was 14, I wrote silly stories that basically mirrored a 14 year old’s fantasy: all my friends together, finding love, making money, and hanging out on private islands. The stories just flowed from my pen. Then I got older and realized that there was more to life than that, and my writing slowed down. I am not one of those prolific writer’s in the sense that I can churn out finished books in no time at all. First off, life intrudes. Secondly, although I write well, and can come up with ideas at the drop of a hat, they don’t flow easily.

Eternity was an anomaly. I wrote it in a month. The story just seemed to come out of me. I knew going in that it was going to be a trilogy, and although I knew who all of my characters would be, I had no idea how I was going to flow the story through all three. My husband pointed out last night that I am facing my Empire Strikes Back; the middle story that has to keep the reader’s attention, yet not give up all the plot points to do it. I admit it; it’s been difficult. How do you keep everything fresh?

So, this is my journey. I don’t have eight or ten hours a day to devote to the book; in all actuality, I have maybe an hour. Two, on the weekends. I work a full-time job, I go to school full-time, I have a house, husband, and son to take care of along with a father-in-law, and then I have to take care of myself or else I would go insane. I am not a twenty-something who can write from 10 o’clock at night until 2 in the morning, and turn around and get up at 6 AM to begin life again.

Please don’t get me wrong, I am NOT complaining. I have a wonderful life! It’s full of love and laughter, failures and successes…I just wish I had more time to devote to writing. So please be patient, I promise that Magick, and then Blood Moon, the third book, will be on its way!

Leave a Reply

